Random Ranting…

A filmfanatic’s (mine) guide to life…

Posted on: May 15, 2009

It has recently come to my attention that a rather large (too large) number of my friends have not seen certain films which I believe it should be the law for people to have seen. At first I tried to explain these films importance to these people… my outright shock and confusion over why certain fools haven’t seen these amazing films influenced this post.

Welcome to my list of films that I think the law should MAKE you watch.

NOTE: These are in no particular order – just whatever order they came into my head.

 blues brothers
Blues Brothers

The soundtrack to my childhood. Jake and Elwood blues are legends in their own right – even the losers who haven’t seen the film itself will know the songs.

 

 

 great escape
The Great Escape

Normally I don’t like really old films, but I could watch this on a loop all day! Iconic moments galore including the epic motorbike jump!

 

 

 
fight clubFight Club

One of the most amazingly clever and original films I’ve ever seen. End of.

 

 

cool runnings Cool Runnings

Feel the rhythm! Feel the rhyme! Get on up, it’s bobsled time! COOL RUNNINGS!
Hilarious. Obscure. Heart Warming. Legendary.

 

 

dogmaDogma

Yet another hilarious movie with some mind bogglingly intelligent lines (rants may be a better word). A great cast who make some good points with hilarious delivery.

Also kinda strange.

 

 

rain manRain Man

Quite a strange one. Story of a a dude with autism and his brother. Some of the things he can do are amazing and it’s based on a real dude.
More the type of film that you have to have seen at least once just because of it’s awesomeness…not really a big entertainment thing – definately not laugh out loud.

 

 

billy-elliotBilly Elliot

If you’re from the Northeast of England like me – you have to watch this. Just for the laughs… although it’s actually canny good – even if it wasn’t based up here.

 

 

 

5th elementFifth Element

I must have seen this film over 50 times and I’m still not bored of it. Really funny with some great cast members – even Lee Evans is in it!

Multipass.

 

 

good will huntingGood Will Hunting

He’s a genius… he’s also a bit of an idiot. The film that pretty much ‘started’ Ben Affleck and Matt Damon (I think they wrote it or something aswel). Quite interesting aswel. Well done them. Definately has to be seen at least once. Do it.

 

 

green mileThe Green Mile

Uber long and uber depressing. One of the few films that I know can make lads cry. It might be really long but it’s definately worth it. John Coffey (like the drink but not spelt the same) rocks!

 

 

forrest gumpForrest Gump

Speaking of films with Tom Hanks in…
Do I really need to explain this one? Absolute. Must. See.

 

 

armageddonArmageddon

Another sad film that’s a must see. Also another film that I know every word too. It’s similar to Independance Day and Deep Impact and I’m sure it was out at the same kind of time as them… Doesn’t mean it doesn’t rock though.


 

donnie darkoDonnie Darko

Seriously the weirdest film I have ever seen… but that doesn’t mean it isn’t amazing.
May give you nightmares tho. Creepy bunny thing.

 

 

dodgeball_verdvdDodgeball

A modern great and one of the funniest things ever. You have to have a sense of humour to like it – if you don’t, then that’s your daft fault!

 

 

 

Well that concludes the films that I could think of right now… Actually it doesn’t, there’s the obvious Star Wars, Back To The Future, Lord Of The Rings etc but if you haven’t seen them either then you’re beyond my help. My apologies.

So as long as you watch the above films then I think you’re set and will be better for it. If you don’t watch them, then you’re severely missing out and probably don’t understand a lot of the conversations your friends are having.

So go buy the dvds and Enjoy!

2 Responses to "A filmfanatic’s (mine) guide to life…"

Its probably easier to say which ones I have seen lol, Dogma (I love kevin smith films!), good will hunting (I dont love matt damon, honest :P), dodgeball, donnie darko, billy elliot (one of my favs just for the soundtrack), fight club (read the book too). And obviously star wars, back to the future (dont think Ive seen the third one though) and lotr.
I did start watching great escape and forrest gump but never finished it

“Who wants an orange whip?” … I can’t think of a more perfect film than the Blues Brothers.

Leave a Reply

What I’m Up To:

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

