Random Ranting…

Back In My Day…

Posted on: May 12, 2009

Is it just me who thinks that all genres of music seem to be blending into one generic ‘chart song’ type music recently? It’s just not the same as it used to be! When I was about 14 people didn’t listen to ‘all types’ of music like they do now – everything was easier back then!

These days though, you get people who go out to raves and clubbing and whatever, listening to david guetta and erm…other dance people… who then go home and listen to Kings of Leon, Snow Patrol and The Killers – I’m not saying I’m not the same (kinda), I’m just wishing things were as easy as they used to be.

When I was at school there was set groups of people who were all friends and could be ‘labelled’ depending on their type of music, which then influenced their dress and hobbies etc. These days everyones tastes cross over so randomly it’s so hard to ‘guess’ people’s styles if you don’t already know them really well.

I’m sure by now you’re wondering what influenced this random reminiscence over the musical days of the past? Well to be honest – Green Day.

I was watching Kerrang! before and their video for Warning came on and it reminded me of how mint their old stuff was – which of course reminded me how rubbish their new song is! I miss the old days of Bowling for Soup, New Found Glory, The Ataris, Green Day and Sum41. When punkrock fans listened to punkrock and dance fans listend to dance music and we were all happier for it.

With the end of this rant, I leave you with a summer anthem from the past,

lostprophets – Shinobi vs Dragon Ninja

http://blip.fm/~6578s

Enjoy!

1 Response to "Back In My Day…"

I agree with this, and I feel weird when Im like “I really only like one type of music”
Most people these days just get described as emo…I find it hard to spot charvas these days, they are cleverly disguised, long gone are the tracky bottoms, rockports and massive fringe (though they still exist for your die hard charvas).

On a Green Day note, I did get 2 tickets for manchester on halloween if you’re interested in the other ticket. I was planning on staying at a travellodge or somewhere

Leave a Reply

What I’m Up To:

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

